Sasan, Bhagat call for isolating communal forces in J&K

R.S PURA: National Conference leaders Mr Gurdeep Singh Sasan, Dr Gagan Bhagat and Mrs Daljeet Sharma Provincial Secretary Jammu on Tuesday made a passionate appeal to the people for strengthening secular forces and isolating the elements creating wedge in the society with eye on votes, a statement issued here said.

Intensifying door-to-door campaign in favour of Congress candidate Mr Raman Bhalla in the R S Pura segment of Jammu-Poonch Parliamentary Constituency, the Provincial Vice President Gurdeep Singh Sasan said that to vote to him will be support to principle based secular politics, which has been vitiated by the BJP, especially during the past five years.

Sasan lashed out at the BJP for ignoring the demand about formation of Minority Commission in the State for redressing the grievances of the minorities especially the Sikhs, who are being denied their rights for quite a long. β€œThey also failed in assuaging the urges and aspirations of the PoK refugees”, he said and referred to the one time settlement package recommended by the National Conference led government to the Centre, which was unceremoniously rejected thus adding to the miseries of the displaced people.

The Provincial Vice President castigated the BJP for plunging Jammu and Kashmir into unprecedented political uncertainty, saying National Conference alone can steer it to peace and stability.

National Conference leader Dr Gagan Bhagat decried the fascist tendencies of the BJP and urged the people to foil these by maintaining unity and tranquility. He said polarization is detrimental to the secular ethos of the state and people must come forward in a big way in the ensuing elections and isolate these forces once forever.

Dr Bhagat pledged that National Conference will fight tooth and nail the elements, which are dividing the society on the basis of region and religion.

Mr Sasan and Dr Bhagat sought vote and support for Mr Bhalla, saying this will be victory of the secular forces in the state.

Prominent among those present on the occasion included:- Mr Rakesh Sharma, Mr Ram Bhagat, Mr Bali Bhagat, Mrs Shuktla Devi, Mrs Amarjeet Kour, Mrs Poli Devi and Mr Tirath Ram.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.