NC assails BJP for ignoring development of border areas

R S PURA: National Conference State Secretary and former MLC Rattan Lal Gupta on Saturday assailed the BJP for ignoring border dwellers, saying all the promises made during 2014 parliamentary and assembly elections have proved hoax.
According to a statement issued here, while addressing workers at Rathana village in R. S Pura this afternoon, Gupta said that despite being in power in New Delhi and Jammu and Kashmir, the border people were deprived of much hyped bunkers and special recruitment drive for the youth. Instead, he said the border people were exploited on emotive slogans, which speaks about the double standards of the BJP.
On the contrary, Gupta said Mr. Omar Abdullah led government left no stone unturned between 2009 and 2014 to ensure overall development of border areas and instilling a sense of security among them. He said border area development got special impetus during that period which was discernible in terms of upgradation of roads and various utility services besides implementation of several welfare schemes.
Gupta urged the Governor’s Administration for ensuring basic minimum necessities to the border areas and expediting construction of bunkers.
He decried the role of parties like PDP and BJP in dividing the society on regional and religious lines with ulterior political motives.
Speaking on the occasion, National Conference leader Mr Romesh Motton said history stands testimony to the commitment of National Conference in ensuring development across the state during its different spells of governance, with opportunities of progress to all.
Motton exhorted the workers to apprise the people about the policies and programmes of National Conference, which stands for unity and tranquility between various segments of the society. He stressed the need for strengthening the bonds of harmony and brotherhood, which has been a cherished slogan of Sher-e-Kashmir Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah.
Those who were present in the meeting included, Vijay Lochan Co- Chairman SC Cell, Abdul Gani Teli Co – Chairman OBC Cell, S. Darshan Singh Vice President Jammu Province, Mrs Daljeet Sharma Provincial Secretary Jammu Province, S. Kuldeep Singh Sasan, Lana Singh, Mr Thoru Ram, Satpal , Ravi Kumar and others.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.